If you are having trouble viewing this email, click here.

OSU Headlines

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the selection of the Search and Screening Committee for OSU Provost and Senior Vice President. Dr. William “Bus” Jaco, Regents Professor, Grayce B. Kerr Chair, and Head of the Department of Mathematics, will serve as Search and Screening Committee Chair.

The Committee began preliminary work in early June and is expected to conclude in early 2014 with the new Provost assuming duties in July 2014. Executive search consultants from Storbeck/Pimentel & Associates will assist the Committee.

The Provost Search Committee's role is advisory and I have requested it develop a strong and diverse pool of candidates, carefully screen eligible applicants, invite finalists for campus interviews, and provide its assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of each final interviewee. I also have asked the committee to seek broad input in completing its task.

The Search Committee membership consists of representatives from various constituencies whose interests are served by the Provost position, including members from all colleges, as well as administrators, distinguished faculty representing teaching and research, staff and students. Committee members are listed below.

We request your assistance in obtaining a strong and diverse pool of candidates by seeking and nominating qualified individuals. I have asked Bus to periodically provide updates about the process and I encourage you to participate in candidate forums and interviews. Your input and guidance will be important in the selection process, with the objective to secure a strong future for Oklahoma State University.

I have asked that one or two informal sessions be arranged to provide an opportunity to discuss your expectations for the search. Regular reports will be provided to the Faculty Council.

Thank you for your interest and participation in this process. I look forward to your active engagement.


Best regards,

V. Burns Hargis, President


For more information about the Provost search go to provostsearch.okstate.edu

To nominate candidates for the Provost position, email Storbeck/Pimentel & Associates at
apsearch@storbeckpimentel.com (Include “OSU-PSVP” in the subject line)


Provost & Senior Vice President Search & Screening Committee | 2013-14

Chair: William "Bus" Jaco
Regents Professor, Grayce B. Kerr Chair & Head,
Department of Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences

Andrew Arena
Professor & T.J. Cunningham Chair, Deputy Director of NASA Oklahoma Space Grant Consortium and EPSCoR, School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering Archtecture and Technology

Al Carlozzi
Professor, School of Applied Health & Educational Psychology, OSU-Tulsa

Robert Cornell
Associate Professor, Anadarko Petroleum Chair & Head, School of Accounting, Spears School of Business

Cynthia Dobbs
Grad Student, Vice President, Graduate and Professional Student Government Association

Jacqueline Fletcher
Regents Professor & Director, National Institute for Microbial Forensics & Food and Agriculture Biosecurity,
Entomology and Plant Pathology, Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

Gary Foutch
Regents Professor & Anadarko Petroleum Corporation Chair, Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering Architecture and Technology

Shelia Kennison
Professor & Faculty Council Chair, Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences

Jason Kirksey
Professor, Political Science, Associate Vice President, Institutional Diversity

Katherine Kocan
Regents Professor & Walter R. Sitlington Endowed Chair of Food Animal Research, Veterinary Pathobiology, Center for Veterinary Health and Sciences

Clint Krehbiel
Regents Professor, Dennis and Marta White Endowed Chair, Assistant Department Head, Animal Science, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

Mary Larson
Neustadt Professor &Interim Associate Dean of Libraries for Special Collections, Oklahoma Oral History Research Program, Edmon Low Library
Katye Perry
Associate Professor & Associate Head, Educational Studies, College of Education

Kayse Shrum
President and Provost, Center for Health Sciences, Dean, OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine

Robert Spurrier
Professor of Political Science & Director, Honors College

Jamie Tate
President, Student Government Association, College of Arts and Sciences

Sheryl Tucker
Associate Provost for Graduate Education, Dean of Graduate College & Professor of Chemistry, Graduate College

Joe Weaver
Vice President, Administration and Finance

Tom Wikle
Professor & Associate Dean, Geography, College of Arts and Sciences

Stephan Wilson
Regents Professor & Dean, Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Human Sciences